County Commissioners

Get to know your County Commissioners!
They are making decisions for you and your community.

It is the function of the Board of Commissioners to:

  • Set policy for the County
  • Adopt and monitor an annual budget
  • Equalize property tax assessments
  • Set fees
  • Contract for a yearly audit of all County funds
  • Ensure the legal and efficient use of tax dollars
  • Appoint other Boards and Commissioners
  • Adopt ordinances
  • Buy land for County use and sell County- owned property
  • Enter into contract and agreements on behalf of Leelanau County


Members of the Public are encouraged to attend Commission meetings; meetings are recorded and available for listening/viewing. They are held each second Tuesday of each month, starting at 9:00 a.m., at the Government Center in Suttons Bay.

Go here to learn more:

Leelanau County Commissioners

County Commissioner District 1
Jamie Kramer - Democrat
County Commissioner District 2
James S. O’Rourke - Republican
County Commissioner District 3
Douglas Rexroat - Vice Chair - Republican
County Commissioner District 4
Ty Wessell - Chair Democrat
County Commissioner District 5
Kama Ross - Democrat
County Commissioner District 6
Gwenne Allgaier- Democrat

State Government Representation

Michigan’s 103rd House District
Betsy Coffia, State Representative
2-Year Term

[email protected]

Mailing Address:
Michigan House of Representatives
P.O. Box 30014
Lansing, MI 48909-7514

Sign up to receive email updates from Representative Coffia at the link below:

Michigan’s 37th State Senate District
John Damoose, State Senator

4-Year TermEmail:
(517) 373-2413

Mailing Address:
Senator John Damoose
P.O. Box 30036
Lansing, MI 48909-7536

Michigan Governor
Gretchen Whitmer

Democrat 4 Year term

Contact the Gov. Office Here
Constituent Services

Mailing Address:
Governor Gretchen Whitmer
P.O. Box 30013
Lansing, Michigan 48909

Michigan Attorney General
Dana Nessel

Democrat 4 Year term

[email protected]

Mailing Address
Mennen Williams Building
525 W. Ottawa Street
P.O. Box 30212
Lansing, MI 48909

Michigan Secretary of State
Jocelyn Benson

Democrat 4 Year term

All Services can be found here: of State Jocelyn Benson

Michigan’s 1st Congressional District
Jack Bergman, US House Representative

2-Year Term

[email protected]
TC Office Phone: 202-225-4735

Voting Record:

US Senator for Michigan
Senator Gary Peters

Democrat 6 Year term


Mailing Address:
Lansing Office :
124 W. Allegan Street, Suite 1400
Lansing, MI 48933

US Senator for Michigan
Senator Debbie Stabenow

6 year term (Retiring in 2024)


Northern Michigan Mailing Address:
3335 S. Airport Road West, Suite 6B
Traverse City, MI 49684